Food Forward TV

A show about people changing the way we eat in America

Crazy days

with 2 comments

When I tell people about the Food Forward road trip, I generally get two reactions: You’re Crazy or I’m So Envious. I used to dismiss the first group and revel in the fantasy I’ve created about my dream food tour with the other group. But lately as the deadline for departure draws nearer and I’m nowhere near ready, I’m starting to think the crazy group isn’t so far off the mark. What the hell am I doing? Am I crazy? Am I really going to pile my family into a 45-year-old trailer and drive around the country for the next four months? Why would anyone do that?

I’m sitting at the table in my living room, one of the last remaining pieces of furniture. It’s after 11pm on Monday night. I had to take a break from packing. We have two more days to empty our house before the movers come and take our storage container away. There are a few other details to sort out like, say, I still don’t have a truck to tow the trailer. (Hopefully getting one tomorrow). Little things like that keep me up at night. And the scary thing is I’ve brought by family into all this uncertainty.

Deirdre is tougher than I am in some ways and definitely more positive. She’s up for anything. Ava is too young to know what’s up, but she sure was miserable today. Everett has been game for the trip, but now says he’s worried. Will it be too hot? What will the truck be like? Will I miss my home?

We’ve moved a lot in the past few years and the moves are never easy on him. We’re not moving this time, but just taking an extended trip but the stress and empty rooms sure feel like moving. I’ve been so busy getting ready I haven’t had much time to slow down and talk to him. After I put him to bed I saw this drawing he did on the chalkboard. It really made me think that this road trip isn’t just affecting my life, but my family’s, too.

Truck pulling an Airstream by Everett Holbrook

I know once all the stress of moving and planning is over I can allow myself to enjoy the trip and accomplish what I set out to do: meet the people who are changing the way we eat, while raising money for Food Forward along the way. I’d like to have some fun with my family, too. Everything is going to be OK. Right?

Written by stettholbrook

April 26, 2011 at 6:35 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my goodness he is SO sweet! I know it’s stressful now but in a few weeks you and your family will be in a good groove, I’m sure. Everyone I know (including me) is so envious! This is a once in a lifetime experience, and both you and Deirdre are amazing for pulling it together so quickly and keeping your heads. Everything is going to be ok 🙂

    Scarlett Fiona Reed

    April 26, 2011 at 11:51 pm

  2. RIGHT!!!!! Everything is going to be more than ok! Go make some wonderful memories & we all look forward to hearing some truly inspiring tales….

    Vanessa Ambrose

    April 27, 2011 at 5:23 am


Leave a Reply

